Pacific Coast Business Directory

Montana Territory

Montana occupies nearly the geographical center of the North American Continent, being situated between 45° and 49° of north latitude and, 104° and 49° longitude, comprising within its limits an area of about 144,000 square miles and was organized as a Territory in 1864.

It is bounded on the north by the British Possessions, east by Dakota, south by Wyoming and Idaho, and west by Idaho. The Territory is divided into the following named counties, viz: Beaver Head, Big Horn, Choteau, Dawson, Deer Lodge, Gallatin, Jefferson, Lewis and Clarke, Madison, Meagher and Missoula. Capital, Helena. Principal towns: Bannack, Blackfoot, Bozeman, Deer Lodge, Diamond, Fort Benton, Missoula, Trapper and Virginia City.

As its name implies, the general aspect of the country is mountainous, the Territory extending over both slopes of the Rocky Mountains, and embracing within its limits the sources of the Missouri, flowing eastward, and of the Columbia, flowing to the Pacific, thus occupying, as it were, the backbone of the continent.

Such are the features of Montana. A country of lofty mountains, great rivers and broad plains; with resources of gold and silver, copper, lead and coal beneath the surface, towering forests, grass-covered hills and plains and fertile valleys to invite the agriculturist and manufacturer, game without limit for the sportsman, and grand scenery for the curious and scientific, and thus promises to become one of the noblest of the sisterhood of States. Read more....

Pacific Coast Business Directory

Source: Pacific Coast Business Directory for 1876-78, Compiled by Henry G. Langley, San Francisco, 1875.


Please Come Again!!

This page was last updated Saturday, 07-Nov-2015 15:11:59 EST

 Copyright 2011-2023 AHGP - Judy White
The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.