Part of the American History & Genealogy Project

The Active Incorporation of the Daughters of the American Revolution


The Daughters of the American Revolution were chartered by an act of the fifty-fourth Congress in 1895. The list of incorporators contains the names of the most conspicuous women of the United States:

Mrs. John W. Foster, of Indiana
Mrs. William D. Cabell, of Virginia
Mrs. Henry V. Boynton, of Ohio
Mrs. A. W. Greely, of Washington, D. C.
Mrs. F. O. St Clair, of Maryland
Mrs. A. Leo Knott, of Maryland
Mrs. Roger A. Pryor, of New York
Mrs. G. Browne Good, of Washington, D. C
Miss Mary Desha, of Kentucky
Mrs. Stephen J. Field, of California
Mrs. Thomas Alexander, of Washington, D. C.
Mrs. Rosa Wright Smith, of Washington, D. C.
Mrs. Hugh Hagan, of Georgia
Mrs. John Risley Putnam, of New York
Mrs. G. H. Shields, of Missouri
Mrs. Ellen Hardin Walworth, of New York
Mrs. Marshall MacDonald, of Virginia
Miss Eugenia Washington, of Virginia
Mrs. A. Howard Clarke, of Massachusetts
Miss Clara Barton, of Washington, D. C
Mrs. Teunis S. Hamlin, of Washington, D. C.
Mrs. Arthur E. Clarke, of New Hampshire
Mrs. Henry Blount, of Indiana
Mrs. deB. Randolph Keim, of Connecticut
Miss Louise Ward McAllister, of New York
Mrs. Frank Stuart Osborne, of Illinois
Miss Marie Devereux, of Washington, D. C
Mrs. Joshua Wilbour, of Rhode Island
Mrs. W. W. Shippen, of New Jersey
Mrs. N. B. Hogg, of Pennsylvania
Mrs. Clifton C. Breckinridge, of Arkansas
Mrs. Adolphus S. Hubbard, of California
Mrs. Charles E. Putnam, of Iowa
Mrs. Simon E. Buckner, of Kentucky
Mrs. Samuel Eliot, of Massachusetts
Mrs. William Wirt Henry, of Virginia
Miss Elizabeth Lee Blair, of Maryland
Mrs. Julius C. Burrows
Mrs. James McMillan
Mrs. J. A. T. Hull
Mrs. Joseph Washington.

The charter was signed by Thomas B. Reed, and Vice-President Adlai A. Stevenson, president of the Senate, approved by Grover Cleveland, and certified to by Richard Olney.

The board of management was composed of the following prominent women:

Mrs. Daniel Manning, of Albany New York
Mrs. Albert D. Brockett, Alexandria, Virginia.
Mrs. Russel A. Alger, Detroit, Michigan.
Mrs. N. D. Sperry, New Haven, Connecticut.
Mrs. John W. Thurston, Omaha, Nebraska.
Mrs. Horatio N. Taplin, Vermont.
Mrs. Marcus A. Hanna, Cleveland, Ohio.
Mrs. William W. Shippen, Seabright, New Jersey.
Mrs. William P. Frye, Lewiston, Maine.
Me.; Mrs. John N. Jewett, Chicago, Illinois.
Mrs. Eleanor W. Howard, Alexandria, Virginia.
Mrs. Anita Newcomb McGee, Iowa.
Mrs. Ellen M. Colton, San Francisco, California.
Miss Mary Boyce Temple, Knoxville, Tennessee.
Mrs. Charles W. Fairbanks, Indianapolis, Indiana.
Miss Mary Isabella Forsyth, Kingston, New York.
Mrs. Abner Hoopes, West Chester, Pennsylvania.
Mrs. Charles O'Neil, Massachusetts.
Miss Anna Benning, Columbus, Georgia.
Mrs. Green Clay Goodloe, Kentucky.
Mrs. Charlotte E. Main, Washington, D. C.
Mrs. Angus Cameron, La Crosse, Wisconsin.
Mrs. Charles Averette Stakely, Washington, D. C.
Mrs. Albert Akers, Nashville, Tennessee.
Mrs. Kate Kearney Henry, Washington, D. C.
Miss Susan Riviere Hetzel, of Virginia.

To Mrs. Ellen Hardin Walworth, Mrs. Mary S. Lockwood, Miss Mary Desha and Miss Virginia Washington belong the credit of having conceived the idea of the organization of the Daughters of the American Revolution, and as explained by Mrs. McLean, three of these women met together and from this beginning of three the organization has grown to the number of one hundred thousand. The reports of the Daughters of the American Revolution show that the first meeting of the Continental Congress was held at the Church of Our Father, in Washington, D. C, February 22-24, 1892, with Mrs. Benjamin Harrison, the first president of the society, in the chair. The meeting was opened by the Chaplain, Mrs. Hamlin. The work which they have accomplished since that day has occupied the time, thought, and affection of hosts of noble women. Mrs. Harrison, the president-general, made the address of welcome to the delegates on this occasion, which was responded to by Mrs. Clifton R. Breckinridge, of Arkansas. After examining the credentials of the different delegates, they formed a number of committees, who took up their work with much enthusiasm.

Short Biographies

Women of America

Source: The Part Taken by Women in American History, By Mrs. John A. Logan, Published by The Perry-Nalle Publishing Company, Wilmington, Delaware, 1912.


Please Come back Soon!!

This page was last updated Monday, 02-Feb-2015 20:12:52 EST

Copyright August 2011 - 2019The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.