Pacific Coast Business Directory

Arizona Territory

The Territory of Arizona is bounded on the north by Utah, east by New Mexico, south by the Mexican State of Sonora, and west by California and Nevada, and lies between the parallels 31° 20' and 37° of latitude and 109 and 115° and 115° longitude. Area 105,120 square miles. Capital, Tucson. Counties: Mariberg, Mohave, Pima, Yavapai and Yuma. Principal towns; Camp Bowie, Castle Dome, Cerbat, Ehrenberg, Florence, Phoenix, Pueblo, Viejo, Sanford, San Pedro, Tubac, Wickenburg and Yuma. That portion of the territory north of the Gila was acquired from Mexico with the conquest of California and confirmed by the treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo at the conclusion of the Mexican war in 1848. The portion south of the Gila was obtained in 1853 by the treaty known as the "Gadsden Purchase," and the Territorial Government was organized in 1853.

The principal rivers the Colorado, Gila, Salt, San Juan or Colorado Chiquito, San Pedro, Santa Cruz, Bill Williams Fork and Verdie, with some smaller streams. The Colorado is one of the great rivers of the continent, formed by the junction of the Grand and the Green in Utah, the former having its source in Colorado Territory and the latter in Idaho, giving the length from the most distant sources to the sea of about 1,500 miles.

Arizona has been denominated the land of the cactus and Apache. These have been its most prominent features. The first is the most detestable plant that curses a desert country, growing to excess and in countless varieties, over hill and plain, of the barren region of the west; and the other the most cruel and implacable of savages.

Pacific Coast Business Directory

Source: Pacific Coast Business Directory for 1876-78, Compiled by Henry G. Langley, San Francisco, 1875.


Please Come Again!!

This page was last updated Saturday, 19-Sep-2015 19:33:40 EDT

 Copyright 2011-2024 AHGP - Judy White
The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.