Illinois ~ AHGP
Part of the American History & Genealogy Project

By W. D. Barge

n reading the various books containing information of our State, it was noticed that the names of many of the towns had been changed, and that some of the towns had ceased to exist. Many of them were mere town sites, and others were towns under the township organization law. The following is a copy of my list of the changes.


The list is not complete. It contains errors, the great majority of which are due to the faulty printing of the State edition of our statutes.


It is hoped that the list will be of service to those who want to know something more of our State:


~ A-C ~ D-G ~ H-K ~ L-R ~ S-W ~

Old Name County New Name
Allin McLean Stanford
America Pulaski, vacated 1861  
Amity Bond Pocahontas
Appletion Perry Smith's Addition of Tamaroa
Argyle Park Cook In Chicago
Athens St. Clair New Athens
Auburn Tazewell, vacated 1839  
Auburn Park Cook In Chicago
Augusta Pike Florence
Avondale Cook In Chicago
B Towns 
Baden Clinton  New Baden
Bainbridge Williamson, vacated 1847
Bates Sangamon, vacated 1867   
Benton Sangamon, vacated 1857   
Benton Sangamon  Williamson 
Berlin Mercer  Swedona 
Berrian Henry  Kewanee 
Beverly Hills Cook  In Chicago 
Blackberry Station Kane  Elburn 
Blue Town Tazewell  Hilton
Bourbon Green, Vacated   
Boonville Pike, vacated, 1836   
Bourbonnais Grove Kankakee  Merged with Kankakee, named same 
Bowensburg Hancock   
Bowmanville Cook  In Chicago  
Bowling Green Warren   
Bradley City Kankakee  Merged with North Kankakee, formed Bradley 
Bridgeport Cook  In Chicago   
Brighton Park Cook  In Chicago   
Bristol  Marshall, vacated 1840   
Brookline Cook  In Chicago   
Brooklyn Massac  Brookport 
Brooklyn St. Clair, vacated1845   
Broughton Effingham  In Effingham 
Brownsville Jackson, vacated   
Brussels Scott, vacated 1847   
Buena Park Cook  In Chicago   
Burnside Cook  In Chicago   
Butler   Winnebago  Cherry Valley
Byron   Fulton, vacated   
C Towns 
Caledonia Peoria, vacated 1839   
Caledonia   Putnam, vacated 1841   
Calhoun Sangamon  In Springfield 
Caloma   Washington  Dubois 
Camden   Logan  Postville, now Lincoln 
Camden Mills  Rock Island  Milan
Canalport   Cook  In Chicago
Carbonia  LaSalle  Ottawa
Carroll  Greene, vacated 1845   
Carroll   Warren, vacated 1845   
Carthage  Monroe  Harrisonville 1816 
Caryford Clark, vacated 1857  
Centreville Fulton  Cuba
 Centreville   McHenry  Woodstock
Centreville   St. Clair  Millstadt
Centreville   Schuyler  Ripley 
Charleston   Kane  St. Charles
Chatham   Whiteside  With Harrisburg to form Sterling
Chester   Randolph  In part Menard
Chicago Lawn  Cook  In Chicago
Chillicothe    Vermilion  With Dallas to form Indianola
Cicero Sangamon, vacated 1845   
Cincinnati Tazewell  In Perkin
Clarksville    McDonough  Sciota
Cleaverville  Cook  In Chicago 
Clement   Clinton  Huey
Clintonville   Kane  South Elgin
Columbia   Marshall  Lacon
Concord   McLean  Danvers
Concord   Putnam, vacated 1810   
Cottage Grove  Cook, vacated 1840   
Cottage Hill  DuPage  Elmhurst
Coulterville   Randolph  Grand Cote, Act of March 30, 1869
Cragin  Cook  In Chicago 

~ A-C ~ D-G ~ H-K ~ L-R ~ S-W ~

Illinois AHGP

Source: Publication Number Seventeen Of The Illinois State Historical Library Transactions Of The Illinois State Historical Society, For The Year 1912 May 23 and 24, 1912, 1914


Copyright August @2011 - 2024 AHGP - Judy White
For the exclusive use and benefit of The American History and Genealogy Project. All rights reserved.