Pacific Coast Business Directory ~ Utah Territory

The Mormons settled upon the present site of Salt Lake City on the 24th of July, 1847, and established an ecclesiastical government, and in 1850 the Territory of Utah was organized. The limits then embraced what is now Nevada and part of Colorado and Wyoming, but now are included within the forty-second and thirty-seventh parallels of latitude, and the one hundred and ninth, and one hundred and fourteenth degrees of longitude, with one square degree taken from the northeastern corner. Utah is bounded north by Idaho and Wyoming, east by Wyoming and Colorado, south by Arizona, and west by Nevada. Area, 83,400 square miles. Population. 150,000. Twenty counties comprise its political divisions, viz: Beaver, Box Elder, Cache, Davis, Iron, Juab, Kane, Millard, Morgan, Piute, Rich, Salt Lake, San Pete, Sevier, Summit, Tooele, Utah, Wasatch, Washington and Weber. Capital, Salt Lake City. Principal towns: Alta, American Fork, Bingham, Brigham City, Corinne, Filmore, Logan, Monte, Nephi, Ogden, Prove, St. George, Springville and Tooele City.

The general features of the Territory are of precipitous mountains and arid plains, presenting, in its native conditions, a sterile and uninviting appearance. The lofty Wasatch Range that as the poetess of the region has said "Heaves her white breasts nearest the sky" rises from the Idaho line, and sinks away near the borders of Arizona, forming the eastern rim of the "great basin" and separating it from the valley of the Colorado. Read more

Pacific Coast Business Directory

Source: Pacific Coast Business Directory for 1876-78, Compiled by Henry G. Langley, San Francisco, 1875.


Please Come Again!!

This page was last updated Saturday, 07-Nov-2015 15:13:44 EST

 Copyright 2011-2024 AHGP - Judy White
The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.