Pacific Coast Business Directory

Washington Territory

The Territory of Washington, organized in 1853, lies between 45° 33' and 49° of latitude, and between 110° 56' and 124° 43' west longitude, it is bounded north by the Straits of Fuca and British Columbia, east by Idaho, south by Oregon, and west by the Pacific Ocean. The area is estimated at 70,000 square miles, and it is divided into twenty-three counties, as follows: Chehalis, Clallam, Clarke, Cowlitz, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Klikitat, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, San Juan, Skamania, Snohomish, Stevens, Thurston, Wahkiakum, Walla Walla, Whatcom, Whitman and Yakima. Capital, Olympia. Chief towns: Cascades, Kalama, Port Townsend, Tacoma, Tenino, Seattle, Steilacoom, Vancouver, Walla Walla and Wallula. The population is estimated at about 40,000.

Washington possesses many grand and distinctive features in its topography and climate: in its lofty mountains, fertile valleys and broad plains; in its noble rivers, numerous harbors, deep bays and great extent of shore lines; in its limitless resources of forests and fisheries, and in its mines of gold and coal and other minerals. Read more

Pacific Coast Business Directory  

Source: Pacific Coast Business Directory for 1876-78, Compiled by Henry G. Langley, San Francisco, 1875.


Please Come Again!!

This page was last updated Saturday, 07-Nov-2015 15:14:51 EST

 Copyright 2011-2024 AHGP - Judy White
The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.